The 7 Big Cat Species

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1.Tiger – Panthera tigris

The tiger (Panthera tigris) is the largest of all cats. The tiger is one of four species that belong to the genus Panthera, more commonly referred to as the ‘roaring cats’. Tigers are solitary animals that prefer the cover of dense vegetation—a habitat in which they can stalk their prey. Their range once extended throughout India and southeastern Asia, from the Caspian Sea to northern China and Siberia. The tiger’s coat is orange with black stripes and white markings on its face, chest, and underside. Eight subspecies of tiger have been identified, though three of those subspecies have been extinct since the 1950s. The extinct subspecies include the Caspian, Javan, and Bali tigers.

2.Lion – Panthera leo

The lion (Panthera leo) is the second largest cat species and, like the tiger, is a member of the genus Panthera. Lions have a buff-colored coat, white underparts, and a long tail that ends in a black tuft of fur. Today, lions inhabit the savanna regions of sub-Saharan Africa. There is also a relic population of less than 300 lions that live in the Gir forest in the northwestern corner of India. Lions form groups known as prides that include 2 to 40 individuals. Prides generally consist of a group of related females that are joined by several males that take over the pride and remain with it for several years before being replaced by competing males. Lions hunt in groups and often take down prey species that greatly outsize them.

3.Jaguar – Panthera onca

Panthers, also called jaguars, (Panthera onca) are the world’s third largest species of cat, only lions and tigers are larger. Adults weigh between 100 and 250 lbs and measure about 4 ft in length. Jaguars are usually tan with black rosettes (a ring of spots with another spot in the center). They live in a variety of different habitats including dense rainforest, scrubland, and grasslands. Their range extends from the souther parts of Arizona and New Mexico through central America to northern Argentina and northeastern Brazil. Jaguars, alongside lions, leopards, and tigers, belong to genus Panthera.

4.Leopard – Panthera pardus

The leopard (Panthera pardus) is the most widely distributed member of the genus Panthera. The present-day range of the leopard includes Africa, the Near and Middle East, southern Asia, and the Malaysian archipelago. Leopards are secretive and mostly solitary cats that inhabit a wide range of habitats including lowland forests, savannahs, mountains, scrublands, and deserts. The leopard’s coat has a background color of pale, cream-yellow on its underside that darkens slightly to an orange-brown on its back. Solid black spots adorn its limbs and head, smaller and denser than the golden, umber-centered rosettes that cover its back and sides. The leopard’s tale has irregular patches that, at the tip of the tale, become dark-ringed bands.

5.Snow Leopard – Panthera uncia

The snow leopard (Panthera uncia) is a large species of cat that roams the mountain ranges of central and southern Asia. The snow leopard is well adapted for the cold temperatures of its high-altitude habitat. It has a plush coat of fur that grows quite long—the fur on its back grows to one inch in length, the fur on its tail is two inches long, and the fur on its belly reaches three inches in length.

6.Mountain Lion – Puma concolor

Mountain lions (Puma concolor) once roamed most of North America, from east to west coast. Their range also extended from southern Argentina and Chile all the way to southeastern Alaska. Sadly, hunting and habitat destruction decimated their populations and confined their range to parts of western North America and a small population in Florida.

7.Cheetah – Acinonyx jubatus

Sphere: Related Content

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Originally posted 2010-10-22 15:00:31. Republished by Blog Post Promoter

  • Big Cat

    There are currently over 80 breeds of big cats. Information about big cats from the common to rare is interesting for some reasons like big cats are heavier than an average cat, but their bone structure is larger, and they’re taller, too.They’re just the cutest cats!

    So what are the “big cat” breeds? To name a few, the following are some of the large domestic cat breeds:

    Maine Coon – This is considered to be the largest of all domestic cat breeds. They can weight a little over 20 lbs.

    Norwegian Forest – A native to Northern Europe, this is another full size kitty.

    Ocicat – Because of its wild look, many people think this is a hybrid breed. In fact, the Ocicat is a full domestic cat.

    Ragdoll – This cat breed is big and sweet. The Ragdoll is one of the mellowest of all domestic cats. They make wonderful family pets.

    Ragamuffin – These kitties are large too. The Ragamuffin is another good-natured and people-oriented cat. Needless to say, Ragamuffins make great pets.

    Some people might think that, maybe one of their parents belonged to one of the large cat breeds. I have no knowledge of this and no way to find out. However, the truth is that we must learn how to love animals. It doesn’t matter what kind of animal it is because it would still give us the same level of love and affection.

This email was sent to one of the OddEmail contributors. Emails on this site are NOT written by contributors. The views and opinions in this email do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the contributors. In fact, there is a good chance that the opinions of this email are entirely contrary to those of the contributor, so please hold them against the person who sent the email originally, not Odd Email!

This entry was posted on Wednesday, September 5th, 2018 at 9:47 am and is filed under Animals, Awesome, Picture. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.